The Crowning Glory: put stock in Something More

Debra Asis
2 min readMay 25, 2024
Photo by Anna Shvets

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and do not rely on your own insight.. Proverbs 3.5

close your ears
to people papers posts
pandering rapacious taste
swelling small self to boast

stop stubbornly insisting
stone wall is a door
align stiff necked persistence
with Something More

squeeze the sponge of self absorption
releasing every drop
thirsty receptivity
bids self-worship stop

incline your ear
arrange your ways
welcome Something Greater
abandon prideful praise

Poem by Debra Asis

If you appreciate this blog
please stay on the site for 30+ seconds and clap!
Subscribe for an email whenever I post. Thank you.

The Proverb’s quote is found in today’s selection in An Ignatian Book of Days by Jim Manney, SJ, a series of daily reflections from the Spiritual Wisdom of St. Ignatius of Loyola. Throughout the book we hear the voices of St. Ignatius as well as many great thinkers and writers, long gone and present day, each uniquely revealing the way of finding God in all things. And that is my intention; to find God/Divine Presence/Ultimate Reality in whatever presents itself to me each day in 2024.

Each day I read, reflect and write on the selection, hoping to articulate the ways in which I come to know God/Divine Presence/Ultimate Reality via personal experience, impelled by the leading of my inner life.

INVITATION

Would you like to join me? The book is accessible on Amazon. Let me know in the comments to this post and sign up to get an email whenever I post. I would love to read your reflections too, public or private messages welcome!

If you find this post meaningful please clap and leave a comment. If you have not yet, please subscribe to receive an email when I post. Thank you!

Learn more about me at
https://www.debraasis.org

All words are generated by grace and the grit of a real human being,
Debra Asis

--

--

Debra Asis

Noticing Ordinary Holiness along the way I aim to read the gospel of life in nature, poetry, art and every messy moment of my ordinary life.