Look Inward:where you are there I am

Debra Asis
2 min readMay 8, 2024

--

Image by Michaela St

the beginning of true religion cannot be in a book, or in science, or in arguing, or in listening to sermons. To look into the soul is to begin to find God. However able the sermon, however sacred the book, it will teach nothing to the person who has not started to look inward. Owen Chadwick

Turn around
look for me
what do you see?
arguments for clock or clockmaker?
intelligent first cause?
mathematical proof? disproof?

Turn around
look for me
what do you see?
Descartes?
Sartre?
John Stuart Mill? Kurt Gödel?

Turn around
look for me
what do you see?
church canon?
clever questions?
10,000 sacred texts?

Turn around
look for me
in the depths of solitude examen
ridges on your fingers solo signature
preference for bitter spice and dark chocolate
urge to run until panting fully alive

Turn around
look for me
in the depths of solitude examen
purple shadows rounding coworker’s eyes
fond greeting card bearing unforeseen blessing
yellow blossom waving weeds and thistle

Turn around
look for me
in the depths of solitude examen
disappointments and disgust
savor sorrow welcome distress
wrestle with wonder review regret

Turn around
look for me
in the depths of solitude
notice
where you are
there I am

Poem by Debra Asis
If you appreciate this blog
please stay on the site for 30+ seconds and clap!
Subscribe for an email whenever I post. Thank you.

Owen Chadwick’s quote is found in today’s selection in An Ignatian Book of Days by Jim Manney, a series of daily reflections from the Spiritual Wisdom of St. Ignatius of Loyola. Throughout the book we hear the voices of St. Ignatius as well as many great thinkers and writers, long gone and present day, each uniquely revealing the way of finding God in all things. And that is my intention; to find God/Divine Presence/Ultimate Reality in whatever presents itself to me each day in 2024.

Each day I read, reflect and write on the selection, hoping to articulate the ways in which I come to know God/Divine Presence/Ultimate Reality via personal experience, impelled by the leading of my inner life.

INVITATION

Would you like to join me? The book is accessible on Amazon. Let me know in the comments to this post and sign up to get an email whenever I post. I would love to read your reflections too, public or private messages welcome!

If you find this post meaningful please clap and leave a comment. If you have not yet, please subscribe to receive an email when I post. Thank you!

Learn more about me at
https://www.debraasis.org

All words are generated by grace and the grit of a real human being,
Debra Asis

--

--

Debra Asis

Noticing Ordinary Holiness along the way I aim to read the gospel of life in nature, poetry, art and every messy moment of my ordinary life.