God Is Now: Tears of holiness

Debra Asis
2 min readMar 19, 2024

--

Photo by Jack Sparrow on Pixel

… remember that God is Now and God is Here, wherever we are, in whatever unchosen places or situations, and that it is God we seek, not a particular path. Lisa Kelly

What must I do to meet God?
learn to pray?
right words to say?
join religious institution?
profess divine substitution?
No
God is here, now
blooming in desire that designs your quest

Shall I look for God in holy books?
pious looks?
sacred rites?
celestial heights?
No
God is here, now
hidden in plain sight

Consider
chamber music of fountains
dancing shadows on mountains
candor child’s flirty smile
faithful friend runs extra mile
God is here, now
longing to love you as you are

Savor
warts and wrinkles
talents skills
strength weakness
hard-headed will
tears of holiness brim God’s eyes
unconstrained by judgment’s lies

Poem by Debra Asis

Lisa Kelly’s above quote is found in today’s selection in An Ignatian Book of Days by James Martin, SJ, a series of daily reflections from the Spiritual Wisdom of St. Ignatius of Loyola. Throughout the book we hear the voices of St. Ignatius as well as many great thinkers and writers, long gone and present day, each uniquely revealing the way of finding God in all things.And that is my intention; to find God/Divine Presence/Ultimate Reality in whatever presents itself to me each day in 2024.

Each day I read, reflect and write on the selection, hoping to articulate the ways in which I come to know God/Divine Presence/Ultimate Reality via personal experience, impelled by the leading of my inner life.

INVITATION

Would you like to join me? The book is accessible on Amazon. Let me know in the comments to this post and sign up to get an email whenever I post. I would love to read your reflections too, public or private messages welcome!

If you find this post meaningful please clap and leave a comment. If you have not yet, please subscribe. Thank you!

Learn more about me at
https://www.debraasis.org

All words are generated by grace and the grit of a real human being,
Debra Asis

--

--

Debra Asis

Noticing Ordinary Holiness along the way I aim to read the gospel of life in nature, poetry, art and every messy moment of my ordinary life.